Check out music from sharda sinha

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

About me in short

Padmashree (prof.) Sharda sinha, an exponent of folk music, has brought this neglected part of our cultural heritage the dignity and high seriousness of classical expression as a translucence added to the warmth & spontaneity of the folk world.
Smt.sinha was initiated into Indian classical music by the late pt. Raghu Jha, an eminent khayal singer of panchgachiya gharana. Her further traning came from late
pt. sitaram hari dandekar and panna devi, a thumri and dadra virtuoso.

Prof. sinha an M.Mus (Indian classical Music-vocal ) and a nritya visharad (Manipur) started making magic with her voice when she was almost a nonentity in the music world.with her debuton Maithili number “dularua bhaiya”she raised a storm which heralded the dawn of new era in the realm of folk music. A tribute to “maithil kokil vidyapati (HMV-1983)made her famous even in distant land countries like Russia ,china,, the U K and the U S A . During her cultural tours sponsored by I C C R(Govt. of India ) of Mauritius, Surinam, Germany, Belgium, Holland ,Luxembourg, Egypt , with her subtle artistry and mellifluous voice Prof. sinha charmed the millions of rural folk and city-bred elites alike.               

 Her numbers in the hindi block busters “Maine pyar kiya” , “hum aapke hain kaun” , and Bhojpuri films “mayee”, “Bolbum”, “Dagabaaz balma”, “ Ganga maiya tohe piyari chadhaibai”, and “Sohagan bana da sajna” have further endeared her countless people in India and abroad.   
Awards and honors have come to prof.sinha in plenty-

Varsh ka sarvottam kalakar -(H M V)                                                                             1979
Lok kala shree -                                                                                                                  1983
Gold disc  -                                                                                                                          1986
Bihar gaurav -                                                                                                                     1987
Double platinum disc-                                                                                                       1988
Bihar ratna -                                                                                                                         1988
Bhojpuri ratna – (pashchim bang Bhojpuri parishad)                                                  1988
Lok ratna-                                                                                                                            1990
Padmashree (Govt. of India)-                                                                                           1991
Kabeer samman -                                                                                                                1992
Bhojpuri ratna-(luckhnow)-                                                                                              1993
                                                                                                                                  Sangeet gaurav -                                                                                                                 1993
Bhikhari thakur samman -                                                                                                1996
Mithila vibhuiti samman-                                                                                                 1996
Ambedkar cultural award -                                                                                              1997
Sarvochchya Nargik Samman-                                                                                         1997
Sangeet Natak Akademy Award-(Govt.of India)                                                          2000
Bhartendu harishchandra samman -                                                                               2002
Netaji  subhash Chandra samman -                                                                                2003
Rashtriya Devi Ahiliya Samman –(Govt. of M.P)                                                         2006
Bihar kalakar samman (Govt. of  Bihar)-                                                                        2008
Bhojpuri  ki Latamageshkar Samman-                                                                            2009

The Honorable President of India awarded prof. sharda sinha  Padmashri” for her folk-classical experiment. Prof. Sinha was awarded   the “Sangeet Natak Akademy “award for the year 2000 ,for her contribution  to  folk music of bihar . She has also been awarded “Rashtriya Devi Ahilya Samman” by the Govt. of Madhya Pradesh .

To acknowledge her contribution to folk music Govt. of Bihar nominated her to the,   executive body of Bihar Rajya kala academy in 1982 & in 1987 The Govt. of India nominated her to the governing body of the “N.C.Z.C.C, Allahbad. 

Prof. sinha is at present a member of the Advisory committee All India Radio , darbhanga ,a member of the governing body, Eastern zonal cultural centre ,kolkata (W.B) & a member of the Expert Committee (ministry of culture , Govt. of India) for financial assistance for promotion and dissemination of Tribal / Folk Art and Culture.

Smt. Sharda sinha is a “Top Grade” artist of akashvani.
Padmashri prof sharda sinha is the Head of the Department of Music , Women’s College, Samastipur (L.N.M.U.Darbhanga ) Bihar.

1 comment:

  1. Namaskar Sharda ji ! aapka delhi aane ka koi plan ho to kripya batayein. JNU me ek programme karwana chah rahe hai.

    Vinay, JNU